Home    Rules    Results Schedule  Point Standings Photos Track Staff    Directions Message Boards

  November 13th, 2016
 Spencer Speedway Honors Many At Their Awards Banquet In Palmyra by Gary M. Spaid

  On Saturday, November 12, 2016, the 62nd annual Spencer Speedway awards banquet took place at the Palmyra VFW. Following dinner awards were presented to both the NASCAR and NHRA drivers present. Colleen D’Hondt started the ceremonies off with the invocation. She remembered the late Gary Montgomery for all his contributions to Spencer Speedway.

  Topping the list of award winners on the night was the 2016 Sunoco Modified track champion, Kevin Timmerman. Timmerman, who won the title the first time in 2011, was presented with the 2016 Sunoco Modified championship trophy he earned on the very last night of competition. He went into the final night of racing with an eleven point advantage and emerged with that same eleven point lead over Mike Leaty, the 2015 track champion, after claiming the feature win.

  In the Super Six division, Barrett Schenk secured the 2016 track championship following a point tie with former track champion Tim Faro. The championship came down to a tie breaker for second place finishes during the season, as each driver had three feature wins each on the year.

  Carrie Schoonmaker earned “Rookie of the Year” honors in the Super Sixes, where she finished seventh in track points with three top fives and three more top ten’s in ten starts. Her sister Ashley won the “Most Improved Award” in the Super Six division.

  In the Auto Value Four Cylinder class, Mike Hyman dominated the division in 2016, winning all but twice in point races. The other wins went to Jacob Gustafson, who finished second in track points and earned the “Rookie of the Year” honors for this division at the bequest. Jennifer Dennie earned the “Most Improved Award” for the division. Mandy Virts won the other feature and was honored with the “UNOH Youth Achievement Award” at the banquet.

  For his efforts in the Auto Value Four Cylinder Robert Hyman was awarded the “Mechanic of the Year Award”. Eddie Hawkins won the “Best Appearing Car Award”. And Terry Hallett won the “Extraordinary Effort Award”.

  Four Cylinder driver, Dave Heimes won a special “Pucker Power Award”, for his habit of kissing everyone at the track.

  On the NHRA side of the awards, Matt Himes took first place in the Super Pro drag division, beating out Mark Talmadge and Chuckie White. In the Pro division, Himes was honored again with a first place award, followed by Sam DeMareo II and Sam Capizzi Sr. In the Street class, Rich Garland won first place honors followed by Matt Galiotti and Jim Zaganiaczyk.

  Other awards on the evening went to Josh Stassen (Super), Scott Beasaw Sr.(Pro) and Matt Galiotti (Street) who each earned “Most Improved” awards from NHRA. Justin Peters (Super) and Cami Hollick (Street) won “Rookie of the Year” honors.

  It has been announced that Spencer’s sister speedway, Chemung, will be switching to Saturday nights in 2017, opening the door for the oval track drivers to attend both speedways. Promoter John White is also negotiating with INEX to sanction Legend cars and possibly Bandoleros at Spencer in 2017.

  Look for more information on Spencer Speedway’s 63rd annual season coming in March 2017.

Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White (631)745-9805