Home    Rules    Results Schedule  Point Standings Photos Track Staff    Directions Message Boards

  November 22nd, 2015
Many Honored At Spencer Banquet by Gary Spaid

  The 61st season of auto racing at Spencer Speedway and Dragway came to an end last Saturday, November 21, with the annual awards banquet, held this year at the Palmyra V.F.W. in Palmyra, NY. The event was emceed by track announcers Dan Turner and Roger Miller.

  On the NASCAR side the oval champions were crowned. Mike Leaty, the former 2007 Modified champion, picked up his first Sunoco Modified championship. Kevin Timmerman came home second in points followed by Tommy Catalano.

  In the Super Six division Josh Schoonmaker picked up his first championship. Barrett Schenk came home second in points followed by last year’s champion Tim Faro, in third.

  The Auto Value 4 Cylinder Scorpion division was dominated in 2015 by Timmy Catalano, who won 10 of 12 feature races run earned the championship. Last year’s champion, Shaun Frarey came home second in points followed by Mike Hyman in third.

  Special awards were also announced. Named “Hard Chargers” in their respective divisions were Tommy Catalano (Sunoco Modifieds), Barrett Schenk (Super Six) and Travis Montgomery (4 Cylinders).

  In the “Rookie of the Year” race Mike Ramos was named the rookie in the Sunoco Modifieds. Ashley Schoonmaker won the rookie honors in the Super Six class and Mike Hyman was named rookie of the year in the 4 Cylinder division.

  Mike Ramos won a special award for Best Appearing Car. The NASCAR Mechanic of the Year award went to Josh Schoonmaker, who wrenched both his championship car and his daughter Ashley’s ride also.

  A Sportsmanship award was given to co-winners Kevin Timmerman and Tommy Catalano. The annual hard luck award went to Ashley Schoonmaker.

  The NHRA highlights the racing action each Saturday during the summer. Their portion of the program saw three divisions honored; Street, Pro and Super classes.

  In the Street Class the top ten were: Rich Garland, Joe Delooze, Bob Kelsch, Rich Garland III, Austin Leckinger, Bob Lynchesky, Jim Zaganiaczyk, Sue Ross, Aaron Gerwitz and Kris Fletcher.

  In the Pro Class the winners were: Sam Demareo II, Clark Gabriel, Mike Demareo, Tony Fiaretti, Paul Zadarlik Sr., Rich Leberi, and Dave Burnham Jr.

  In the Super Class the awards went to Ken Nogaj, Charles White, George Smith and Scott Beasaw Sr.

  The Rookie of the year for the NHRA drags was Joe Delooze, who raced in the Street division.

  Racing returns to Spencer in 2016 come the month of May, with their 62nd year of auto racing. Schedules should be released in March for the upcoming season.

  Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. For more information go to: www.spencerspeedway.org.


Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White (631)745-9805